We're gonna sit on top of the watertower and pretend we're Batman.

World Goth Fair: Done, and Donated.

I have a few more blog posts to add to the Big Post of Blog Posts, but it’s now June 1, and WGF 2012 is officially closed. That being the case, Ive pulled everything out of the charity account, converted it and sent it along to the Sophie Lancaster foundation. See the screencaps below for all the details.

This was the total in the charity account. It’s a screencap from the charity account’s dashboard.

I then cashed the money out via Virwox. yes, the Lab would have given me a few extra dollars, but it would have taken four days and I wanted it out NOW, so there was no speculation on where the money was or why there was a holdup.  This screencap is from my paypal account showing how much got transfered there once fees were accounted for.

I then converted that amount to pounds, since that’s the currency the Sophie Lancaster Foundation takes donations in.  This is the screencap of that conversion from Google.

I then donated that amount. This is the screencap of confirmation of that- Ive smudged my mailing address.

Finally, here’s the receipt from paypal for the donation. Again, I’ve smudged my mailing address.

The money is in their hands now.

Huge thanks go to everyone who helped pull this event together- Dare for building it, all the merchants for participating so eagerly, the bloggers for all their wonderful coverage, the staff of Gothika for pulling off that epic 13 hour marathon, and Lee and Martin for concocting this whole ridiculous thing in the first place.

Thanks a lot, everyone.

See you next year.

-AK

 

EDIT: 9:52am EST.  I’ve gotten word from the Sophie Lancaster Foundation that they’ve received the donation. It reads as follows:

 

thank you so very much for this generous donation following your second life event, we really appreciate it

I will add a link to the news item to our f/b page to show people what you have done for us !

warm regards

Kate Conboy-Greenwood
campaign manager

 

I don’t have a facebook acc0unt but if someone could shoot me the link to that, I’d appreciate it.  Thanks.

8 responses

  1. Awesome!!! Good job Everyone, yay =)

    June 1, 2012 at 9:31 am

  2. Aribeth Zelin

    Thank you very much for letting me take part, I’m glad to have helped at least a small bit.

    June 1, 2012 at 10:18 am

  3. Wondeful news, im sure she would have been very pride 🙂

    June 1, 2012 at 10:40 am

  4. Thank you for organising such a big effort and congrats to all who took part and helped raise an important amount of money. See you next year 🙂

    June 1, 2012 at 11:13 am

  5. yay! tysvm for letting me be in this great cause! great job everyone! ❤

    June 1, 2012 at 1:07 pm

  6. This is the first “fair” I participated in and the Sophie Lancaster Foundation is why I wanted to do it. It has been a cause very dear to me ever since I saw the video on illamasqua’s website. TY for making such a great event!

    June 1, 2012 at 4:53 pm

  7. I’m thrilled that the fair went so well, and honored that I could participate in my first fair to help out a cause that has a lot of meaning to me. It gave me the opportunity to stretch the limits of my creativity, as well. Very much looking forward to next year’s fair, both as a creator and a donor.
    ☥ Stacey

    June 3, 2012 at 4:54 am

  8. Pingback: The Day One Report. | World Goth Fair

Leave a Reply

